From the Director's desk:

One hundred years ago, Jagadis Chandra Bose, the founder of modern science in India, established what he called "a temple of science". He dedicated this "temple of science", in his own words, for the glory of India and for the betterment of the world. Thus was born the research institute, which bears his name. True to his words of dedication, the institute brought glory, not only to itself, but also to the country. His own work, some of which predates the establishment of the institute, is recognized today as seminal and trailblazing. The subsequent research done here -- from Debendra Mohan Bose's work on cosmic rays to Sambhu Nath Dey's work on Cholera toxin, among others -- upheld the standard set by the founder.

Jagadis Chandra not only left a legacy of very high standards of creativity to uphold but also a tradition of exploring scientific questions beyond the borders of narrow scientific disciplines. He explored many aspects of life using instruments that he himself designed and fabricated and more importantly, extending the principles of physical sciences. Without a doubt, he was one of the first, if not the first, biophysicist and a proponent of what is today called the trans-disciplinary science. The pursuit of knowledge, unencumbered by narrow self-interests, was his guiding principle. Unfettered access to knowledge was his dream.

With the flow of time and the inevitable changes that it brings, a new backdrop has been created for us.  Today, the open source movement and the dissolution of borders of traditional scientific disciplines have emphatically validated his vision. On the other hand, a fast pace of development in many parts of the world has created many centers of scientific excellence, thus, ushering in a sense of urgency to keep ourselves abreast with the leaders of science today. As we enter the second century of our existence, every one of us should remember that we couldn’t lose any moment or squander any opportunity to push ourselves to the frontiers of science, blaze new trails and apply the knowledge gained towards nation building and betterment of humanity. That will be the fitting tribute to our great founder.

Prof. Siddhartha Roy
Director (officiating)

Past Directors :



Sibaji Raha 2006 - 2016
Maqsood Siddiqui 2001 - 2005
Prasanta Kumar Ray 1992 - 2000
Birendra Bijoy Biswas 1985 - 1990
Sasanka Chandra Bhattacharyya 1977 - 1984
Sushil Kumar Mukherjee 1976 - 1976
Sourindra Mohan Sircar 1967 - 1975
Debendra Mohan Bose 1937 - 1967
Sir Jagadish Chandra Bose 1917 - 1937