Download CV

Previous appointments:

Research Staff Scientist, High Energy Physics Group, Philipps University Marburg, GERMANY. 1980 - 84

Lecturer and Reader, Saha Institute of Nuclear Physics, Kolkata, INDIA. 1985 - 89

Research Staff Scientist, High Energy Physics Group, Philipps University Marburg, GERMANY. 1989 - 90

Research Professor, University of Virginia, Charlottesville, USA. 1990 - 91

Reader, Physics department, Bose Institute, Kolkata, INDIA. 1991 - 97

Professor, Physics Department, Bose Institute, Kolkata, INDIA. 1997 - 2005

Senior Professor, Bose Institute, Kolkata, INDIA. 2005 - present

Director, Bose Institute, Kolkata, INDIA. 2006 - 2016

Director (Additional Charge), S. N. Bose National Centre for Basic Sciences, Kolkata, INDIA. 2014 - 2016

Research interests:

High energy particle and nuclear physics and astrophysics, cosmology, quantum field theory, nonlinear processes, atmospheric physics, global change, history of science.


Address: Department of Physics
Centenary Campus
Bose Institute
P-1/12 C.I.T. Scheme VII-M
Kolkata - 700054, India
E-Mail: sibajiraha[at]
Phone: +91-33-25693201



Please see CV.

View More


  • Invite Professor of Physics (National Contingent), Ministry of Education, FRANCE, 1986
  • Centre of Excellence Professor of Physics, Osaka University, JAPAN, 2001
  • Rajiv Gandhi Sadbhavana Award (Scientific Category), Rajiv Gandhi Foundation, ORISSA, 2007
  • Prof. P. A. Pandya Endowment Lecture Award, Indian Physics Association, 2010
  • Fellow, National Academy of Science, India, 2012
  • Fellow, West Bengal academy of Science & Technology, 2013
  • C. V. Raman Lecture Award, Department of Atomic Energy, India, 2016
  • Chairman, Joint Scientific Council of FAIR & GSI, GERMANY, 2016



Image Name Designation Department Campus Contact number Email
profile image Dipanjan Nag JRF Physics Unified 23031180
profile image Maitreyee Mukherjee SRF(Extended) Physics Unified 23031180
profile image Rama Prasad Adak SRF Physics Unified 25693131 rpadak
profile image Rathijit Biswas SRF Physics Unified 25693135 rathijit


Prof. Sanjay K. Ghosh, Dr. Rajarshi Ray, Dr. Supriya Das, Dr. Parthasarathi Joarder, Dr. Sidharth Prasad, Dr Saikat Biswas, Dr. Abhijit Chatterjee, Dr. Sanat Kumar Das, Dr. Atanu Maulik, Dr. Sandhya Dey, Dr. Debajyoti Roy, Mr. Soumendra Singh, Dr. Ajay K. Singh.

Group News: