The Department of Biophysics was established in September 1983. Currently there are six faculty members in the department. Although a relatively young department and small in size, the department is very active in research primarily focused on Molecular Biophysics, Biophysical Chemistry and Structural Biology.

The research work of biophysics faculty members are directed towards two Institutional Projects: i) Computational Biology and ii) Protein Structure and Function.

At present two faculty members are recipients of the prestigious Bhatnagar Award: Prof. Manju Ray (1989 Life Sciences) and Prof. Siddhartha Roy (1999 Life Sciences).

The Department houses a number of major instrumental facilities. Notable are a 500 MHz and a 700 MHz (with cryoprobe) NMR spectrometers, a macromolecular X-ray crystallography setup and a peptide synthesizer. In addition, the department is equipped with small instruments for molecular biology and biophysical experiments.